How toTech ReviewsTechnology

How to Delete Instagram Account Permanently?

Deleting your Instagram account is a doughty task to perform. However, sometimes it becomes mandatory to do so.  Whatever may be the reasons like privacy threats, too much time eating, cyberbullying or just done with the photo-sharing app.  If you have decided to get away from your Instagram account, we are ready to help!

In this article, we have shared all the details regarding the deactivation or deletion of the Instagram Account. You can cure your Instagram addiction either in two ways. Therefore, its time now to share a little bit less online and perform whatever is still not done because of the limitless Instagram feed scrolling.

Just as Facebook and Twitter once deleted you cannot get the same profile data again. In case, you have deleted the account but want to come back on the social media platform, the only way is to create a new ID and start from scratch.

Taking Backup of your Instagram Account details and Posts

Either though you have decided to take a break from the Instagram world for a while or forever, still we suggest you to hold on and take a backup of everything on your Instagram. After all, it has taken a lot to build up an account. Taking backup will help you while restoring the account if deactivated. This will either be good if you delete the account even at least you have all your Insta pictures.

Therefore, to back up or download the account details and pictures follow the given steps:

  1. Go to the browser on your computer, visit Instagram.com/download/request link.
  2. In the email column type in the email address where you want to get the download link
  3. Click on ‘Next’
  4. Now enter your Instagram password in the prompted box
  5. Click on ‘Request Download’ button
  6. A message will appear stating the Instagram is creating a file of all your data
  7. The download link will be sent to your E-mail address.

Please note that Instagram takes a minimum of 48 hours to prepare a complete backup and create a download link. So be patient!

Alternate method:

  1. Log in to your Instagram Account
  2. Click on the profile picture
  3. Now next to your username a cog icon will appear, click on it
  4. From the list select ‘Privacy and Security’ option
  5. Under the heading ‘Data Download’ click on ‘Request Download’ link

Now you can follow the steps of the first method to complete the download process.

How does the Download Link works?

Once the download link is mailed to your inbox, follow the steps to see you backup data

  1. Click on the download link in your inbox.
  2. After the browser is done with downloading, open the Downloads folder in your system
  3. There you will see a ZIP folder, named as your Instagram username. Unzip it
  4. Once you open the Zipped file you will see a number of sub-folders with .JSON extension
  5. Now you can one by one go to the data divided into sub-folders.

Note – The download link will work for only 4 days so be fast to open and work on it.

Deleting the Instagram Account

If you have decided to delete your Instagram account then it is for sure that all your photos, profile, videos, likes, followers, etc. will also be lost.

To delete your Instagram account permanently

  1. Log in to your Instagram Account (You cannot delete your account from the app therefore compulsorily log in through web browser)
  2. Go the ‘Delete your account’ page on Instagram
  3. Here select a reason of deleting your account from the drop-down menu
  4. Enter your password when prompted
  5. Click on ‘Permanently delete my account’

Deactivating Instagram Account

In case you are not completely ready to get apart from Instagram, then you have the option of deactivating the account for a period.

To temporarily deactivate your Instagram Account

  1. Again Login to your Instagram account on a web browser and not on the app
  2. Click on ‘Edit Profile’ option
  3. Select ‘Temporarily disable my account’
  4. Enter your Instagram ID password when prompted
  5. Click on ‘Deactivate’

Voila! You are all away to your Instagram for a particular time. Whenever you feel like coming back to Instagram to post some interesting stories and photos. You are all set with a backup restored automatically once signed in again with the same credentials.

Related Articles

Back to top button