Breaking News, Latest News, World News, India News, Cricket, Videos & Photos

The Hundred: ECB confirms Players and Teams; Here is the Format of the Tournament

The England and Wales Cricket Board has confirmed the names of eight teams that will participate in the inaugural edition of The Hundred that will take place from 17 July to 16 August, 2020. The league will consist of eight city-based franchise teams and each one of them will field both a men’s and a women’s team.

The Hundred: FORMAT

The format of this tournament is quite different from other cricket leagues played around the world. Here are the distinguished rules and regulations of The Hundred:

  • 100 balls each for both the innings
  • Change of bowler’s end after ten balls
  • Bowlers will have an option to deliver either five or ten consecutive balls
  • Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game
  • Both the bowling sides will get a strategic timeout of up to two and a half minutes
  • A 25-ball power play at the start for each team
  • Two fielders will be allowed outside the 30-yard circle during the powerplay

The Hundred: TEAMS

Eight teams will be participating in this tournament which are based out of seven cities. They are: Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, London (two teams), Manchester, Nottingham and Southampton. The eight teams are: London Spirit (blue), Oval Invincibles (mint green), Southern Brave (green), Welsh Fire (red), Manchester Originals (black), Northern Superchargers (purple), Trent Rockets (yellow) and Birmingham Phoenix (orange).

Each team will have three men’s players on their roster: two ‘local icons’ and an England Test player and two women players picked from the central contract. The remaining players for each squad will be picked on the second draft which will take place on October 20. Here are all the players picked up so far:

Team Test Contract Men Local Icons Central Contracted Women
London Spirit Rory Burns Eoin Morgan, Dan Lawrence Heather Knight, Freya Davies
Oval Invincibles Sam Curran Jason Roy, Tom Curran Laura Marsh, Fran Wilson
Southern Brave Jofra Archer James Vince, Chris Jordan Anya Shrubsore, Danni Wyatt
Welsh Fire Jonny Bairstow Tom Banton, Colin Ingram Katie George, Bryony Smith
Manchester Originals Jos Butler Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone
Northern Superchargers Ben Stokes Adil Rashid, David Willey Lauren Winfield, Linsey Smith
Trent Rockets Joe Root Alex Hales, Harry Gurney Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt
Birmingham Phoenix Chris Woakes Moeen Ali, Pat Brown Amy Jones, Kristie Gordon


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Privacy & Cookies Policy