MS Dhonis joins elite list of wicket-keepers effecting 400 dismissals in ODIs

Indian wicket-keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni has become the first Indian and fourth overall to effect 400 dismissals in the One-Day-International cricket during India’s historic ODI series win against South Africa. Dhoni is now only behind of Kumar Sangakkara, Adam Gilchrist and Mark Boucher.

Dhoni, who made his ODI debut in 2004 against Bangladesh, has achieved the record during the third ODI of the six-match series in South Africa. He stumped stand-in skipper of South Africa Aiden Markram off the delivery of Kuldeep Yadav. Markram was beaten by a flighter delivery of Yadav and Dhoni didn’t do any mistake to remove the bails in the 17th over of their innings.

Former Sri Lanka captain Sangakkara led the table with 482 dismissals from 404 matches. He is followed by Gilchrist and Boucher who have effected 472 dismissals and 424 dismissals respectively in ODI cricket. While Gilchrist has played 272 matches Boucher played 295 matches.

In 2017 September Dhoni has become the first gloveman in the history of ODI cricket to effect 100 stampings, surpassing Sangakkar’s record of 99 during the fifth match against Sri Lanka at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The former Indian skipper is one of the best wicket-keepers in the contemporary cricket. He has taken 297 catches and effected 107 stumpings. He will have a change to surpass his predecessors as he will play the game till 2019 World Cup. With one year left for the World Cup, he will have good opportunity to topple Sangakkara to grab the numero uno position.

Dhoni is one of the few wicket-keepers who has achieved wicket-keeping and batting record at the same time.

Dhoni has 9967 runs in 318 matches at an average of 51.37. He is just 23 runs away from becoming the first wicket-keeper batsman to score 10000 ODI runs in the history of the game.

In the history of the ODI cricket, Dhoni is the only captain who has lifted all three ICC trophies-World Cup, World T20 and Champions Trophy. In 2011 India has won the World Cup at Mumbai and in 2007 India lifted the World T20 at Johannesburg and the Champions Trophy in 2013 at Birmingham.

Back to top button