Manchester City Win the Carabao Cup consecutively for the fourth time

Manchester City was caught in a dry spell throughout the game with 21 efforts made but no outcome. It was until City finally made the breakthrough in the 82nd minute from an unlikely source as defender Aymeric Laporte met Kevin de Bruyne’s free-kick and headed it past goalkeeper Hugo Lloris.

Laporte was in the limelight; In the end, he was the one who provided the only goal and the winner of the match. Yet again, it was a trophyless year for the Spurs. Just days before the Carabao Cup Final, Tottenham Manager Jose Mourinho was reportedly sacked by the club. As his replacement, Ryan Mason took his place as the Interim manager.

Both Man City and Spurs had 8,000 fans in attendance inside the Wembley for the big day as the situation in England is slowly reverting back to normalcy.

Pep Guardiola’s side had won this trophy consecutively in the past three seasons. Now after Sunday’s victory, they were able to match Liverpool’s 1981 – 1984 record of four consecutive triumphs as City has been dominating this competition since 2018. This win tallied their eighth EFL Cup to the trophy case.

Rumors have been flowing around Harry Kane’s departure from the Spurs after playing with them since 2013. Fans and football pundits are critiquing that if Kane wants to win a trophy, then he needs to leave Tottenham. The English striker has maintained consistency in scoring goals throughout his run with the Spurs. He has had 218 goals in 324 appearances for the same; still, it wasn’t enough for the club to attain a major league trophy.

After getting this final out of the way, Guardiola’s side can focus on the bigger prize as their attention will now turn to their Champions League semi‑final first leg against the French giants, Paris Saint-Germain on Wednesday.


Back to top button