Breaking News, Latest News, World News, India News, Cricket, Videos & Photos

India vs South Africa 1st Test: Saha and Ashwin set to return, Here’s the Playing XI

After the completion of the T20I series between India and South Africa, it’s time for the three-match Test series. The first Test match will be played at the Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium in Vishakhapatnam. The Indian Team has also announced their Playing XI for the match to be played at Vizag.

A lot of changes have been made to the side that played during the West Indies series. Rohit Sharma’s entry to the side was ascertained before and on the eve of the match, it was announced that Wriddhiman Saha and Ravi Ashwin makes a comeback to the side.

indian team hot news
India vs South Africa | Credits: Outlook

Openers (Mayank Agarwal and Rohit Sharma)

India will open the side with a new opening pair as this time their limited overs opener Rohit Sharma will initiate the innings in the longest format as well. His partner will continue to be Mayank Agarwal who has a young and budding career.

Middle Order (Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane and Hanuma Vihari)

Their middle continues to be the same that played during t he West Indies Test matches. Pujara will look to score big as his home record is not much great and he failed to score in the previous series as well. Vihari will continue to play after his tremendous performance against West Indies.

Wicketkeeper (Wriddhiman Saha)

The major news is coming from this section as the Indian Team has dropped Rishabh Pant and Saha has came into the side to replace him. Pant was being constantly criticised for his poor shot selection and is ultimately paying the price for it.

Spinners (Ravindra Jadeja and Ravi Ashwin)

It was quite obvious to see both Ashwin and Jadeja in the side during the home matches. Jadeja is consistently there in the team and is performing with both bat and ball but Ashwin is making a comeback.

Pacers (Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami)

The Indian Team faced a major setback after Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out for this series due to a stress fracture in his lower back. Now, the fast bowling department will be lead by Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami will also support him.

Playing XI: Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wridhhiman Saha (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Ishant Sharma and Mohammad Shami

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Privacy & Cookies Policy