Warning: WP Redis: Connection refused in /home/toapkcom/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-redis/object-cache.php on line 1485
FIFA announces The Best FIFA Football Awards, Messi bags Best Men's Player of the Year
FootballCristiano RonaldoSport

FIFA announces The Best FIFA Football Awards, Messi bags Best Men’s Player of the Year

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019 took place on 23 September 2019 at the Teatro alla Scala in Milan, Italy. Barcelona’s Lionel Messi won the Best Player Award in men’s category as he left behind Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk who failed to win the top prize.

Best FIFA Football Awards,

It is also the sixth title for Messi at these awards as he previously won this award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015.

Messi performed brilliantly this year for which he was duly rewarded at this ceremony. His nearest competitor for this award was van Dijk and it was also surprising to some fans as well that Messi was chosen over him. The Argentinian helped Barcelona win La Liga and reach the semi-finals of the Champions League.

Lionel Messi | Credits: Twitter

One of the biggest competitors for Lionel Messi has always been Cristiano Ronaldo but this time it was not the case. One of the biggest reasons behind it can be his transfer to Juventus from Real Madrid. He was also not even present at the award ceremony and his absence became one of the talking points of this event as well.

Here is the complete list of all the award winners of The Best FIFA Football Award:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Megan Rapinoe (Reign FC)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Jill Ellis (USWNT)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Alisson (Liverpool)

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (Arsenal / Atlético Madrid)

FIFA Puskas Award: Daniel Zsori (Debrecen FC vs Ferencvaros TC)

Apart from awarding the best performers, there was also a team formed of 11 players that consisted of the performers. Here is the Fifa Fifpro Men’s Team of the Year:

Goalkeeper- Alisson (Liverpool/Brazil)

Defenders- Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax and Juventus/Netherlands), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid/Spain), Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/Netherlands), Marcelo (Real Madrid/Brazil).

Midfielders- Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia), Frenkie de Jong (Ajax and Barcelona/Netherlands), Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Real Madrid/Belgium)

Forwards- Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain/France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus/Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona/Argentina)

Back to top button