Breaking News, Latest News, World News, India News, Cricket, Videos & Photos

SA overcome Udana special to clinch series against SL

Isuru Udana’s valiant knock of 84 runs off just 48 balls went in vain as South Africa defended a total of 180 runs against Sri Lanka in the second T20I to clinch the series. Fifties from Raza Hendricks and van der Dussen propelled South Africa’s total to 180 runs while Chris Morris claimed three wickets to derail Sri Lanka’s chase.

Udana gives all, but South Africa hold their nerves

Sri Lanka were never in the chase until Udana arrived to the crease in the tenth over. Dale Steyn sent back Fernando and Mendis in the first over and then Morris accounted for dangerous looking Niroshan Dickwella in the fourth over.

Sri Lanka soon slipped to 5 for 56 as key man Thisara Perera was dismissed in the 9th over. But then Udana stepped up and injected life in the game with his aggressive intent.

He clobbered JP Duminy for two sixes and a four in the 16th over and and in the next over ransacked two fours and a six. With the required rate getting to 24 runs per over, Udana went bonkers and slapped two boundaries each in the 19th and 20th over but the task was too big to handle for him.

In the end Sri Lanka managed to get 164 runs and Udana remained unbeaten on 84 runs.

Hendricks, Dussen take South Africa to 180

Udana dismissed South African opener Adrien Markram in the second over but then Hendricks and Dussen added 116 runs for the second wicket to give the hosts the pole position.

Hendricks departed in the 15th over and soon Dussen followed him in the 17th over. Hendricks scored 65 runs while Dussen scored 64 runs.

JP Duminy delivered the finishing blows as he smashed 33 runs off 17 balls. Lasith Malinga once again was the pick of the bowlers as he gave away just 26 runs off his four overs.


South Africa win the T20I series

After losing the Test series 2-0 South Africa made a strong comeback and won the ODI series 5-0 and now have also pocketed the T20I series. The third T20I of the series will be played on 24th March.


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Privacy & Cookies Policy