IPL 2018CricketSport

IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), schedule, Fixtures, match time, venues

Kolkata Knight Riders have enjoyed a roller coaster ride in IPL so far. They have lifted the trophy and have also finished the league at the bottom. The team is famous for its Bollywood star owner Shahrukh Khan and its flamboyant ex-skipper Saurav Ganguly. Gautam Gambhir lead the team to two titles and now for 2018 season they have completed revamped their squad.

Kolkata Knight Riders OwnersShahrukh Khan through Red Chillies Entertainment owns 55% while Jay Mehta and Juhi Chawla own 45% stakes through Mehta Group.

Crest and Color- The team logo is a Corinthian helmet in blazing blue color along with golden color. The words Kolkata Knight Riders are written on a shield.

Captain- Dinesh Karthik

Head Coach – Jacques Kallis

Assistant coach -Simon Katich

CEO and Managing Director – Venky Mysore

Home Ground- Eden Gardens, Kolkata

Notable players in Kolkata Knight Riders IPL 2018

Saurav Ganguly- The skipper for the first season, Saurav Ganguly’s association with KKR is remembered for wrong reasons. But even then, Ganguly stamped his presence on the team with some sterling performances.

Gautam Gambhir-Gautam Gambhir served KKR effectively during his reign as he led the franchise to two IPL titles. He scored runs at the top, led the team and created a strong core group that formed the base of KKR’s winning combination for several seasons.

Sunil Narine – Probably KKR’s biggest match-winner, Sunil Narine’ spin bowling is still a mystery for several batsmen. Narine has been the most economical bowler and has also picked up plenty of wickets.

Robin Uthappa- KKR’s run machine, Robin Uthappa was the backbone of their batting group when they won IPL. Uthappa was KKR’s leading run scorer for few seasons and now he is also a senior member of the team.

Manish Pandey- The young phenomenon grew effectively in IPL during his association with KKR. Pandey played a memorable inning in IPL final and has remained a reliable player at number three.

Other notable players- Jacques Kallis, Brenden McCullum, Yusuf Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Shakib-al- Hassan, Brett Lee

2018 IPL Kolkata Knight Riders Current Squad-

Sunil Narine, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Johnson, Chris Lynn, Dinesh Karthik, Andre Russell, Robin Uthappa, Apoorv Wankhade, Piyush Chawla, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishank Jaggi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Shubhman Gill, Nitish Rana, Vinay Kumar, Rinku Singh, Cameron Delport, Javin Searless,

Back to top button