IPL 2018CricketSport

IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders : KKR Team history, previous year’s performances

Two titles and a few decent seasons have made KKR one of the strongest teams in IPL and their sensational fanbase has also allowed them to keep their financial calculations strong.

Owned by the Bollywood superstar, Shahrukh Khan, KKR has always remained in the limelight and their frequent innovations in jerseys and logos have always stirred the IPL world.

KKR Year wise performances in IPL

Brenden Mccullum’s stunning century kickstarted KKR’s IPL campaign but the team failed to make it to the play-offs during its first three years. A change in leadership also changed fortunes for the team, as Gautam Gambhir led the franchise to two IPL trophies in the next four years.

Gambhir’s success was based on the core group which KKR retained for almost half-a-decade. This core group brought balance to the team and took them to greater heights.

Season                                 Position

2008                       League Stage

2009                       League Stage

2010                       League Stage

2011                       Play-offs

2012                       Winners

2013                       League Stage

2014                       Winners

2015                       League Stage

2016                       Play-offs

2017                       Play-offs

KKR Best Season- 2012

KKR became the IPL champions for the first time in 2012 riding on a sensational hundred by Manvinder Bisla against CSK in the finals.

Gautam Gambhir led the team and was also team’s leading run-scorer while Sunil Narine was the leading wicket-taker. The year 2012 is remembered for Sunil Narine’s rise in IPL and this performance by Narine was the decisive factor in KKR’ winning campaign.

KKR won 10 games out of their 16 in the league stage and ended the league stage at number two.

KKR Worst Season- 2009

The most disappointing season for KKR was 2009 when they won only three games out of their 14 games. They finished the season at number eight as the last team in the points table.

The captaincy of Saurav Ganguly was under the scanner and also the role of their coach John Buchanan.

Back to top button