Breaking News, Latest News, World News, India News, Cricket, Videos & Photos

IPL 2018: Delhi Daredevils: Team history, previous year’s performances

One of the most inconsistent teams in IPL, Delhi Daredevils was one of the best teams in the league during the first half of IPL but have become one of the weakest in the last few years in IPL.

Delhi Daredevils have had some of the biggest names in international cricket playing for them but somehow the big names have failed to deliver for DD. Hence, despite performing effectively in the last ten years, Delhi has no IPL trophy in their cabinet.

Year wise performances in IPL

A strong team of Delhi Daredevils led by Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir reached the playoffs in the first two years and were one of the top teams in the league.

But since then they have reached the top-four position only once in the last eight years. In fact in the last few years, the team hasn’t featured any Indian superstar in the squad and has suffered miserably. From 2011 to 2014, they finished as the last time in the points table thrice.

Season                   Position

2008                       Semi-finalists

2009                       Semi-finalists

2010                       League Stage

2011                       League Stage

2012                       Play-offs

2013                       League Stage

2014                       League Stage

2015                       League Stage

2016                       League Stage

2017                       League Stage

Best Season- 2012

In 2009, Delhi Daredevils were unstoppable in the tournament as they won 10 of their 14 league games. Delhi’s winning juggernaut was stopped mercilessly by Adam Gilchrist in the semi-finals as Gilchrist smashed a record-breaking half-century.

The duo of Gambhir and Sehwag were incredible with the bat while AB de Villiers scored valuable runs as well. But their sensation was Dirk Nannes, a relatively unknown bowler from Australia who went on to become one of the leading wicket-takers of the season.

Worst Season- 2014

Delhi won only two of their 14 league games in 2014 and had their worst season in IPL. They lost all nine of the last games and finished last at the points table.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept

Privacy & Cookies Policy