2019 Cricket World CupCricketSport

CWC 2019: Final (England vs New Zealand) – Preview

After a long period of almost one and a half month where we witnessed some tremendous cricket from best of the teams and players, we are down to the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. A day for which all cricketing fans have been from the last four years, it has finally arrived and could not have been better as this match will be played at the ‘Home of Cricket’- Lord’s Cricket Ground in London on 14th July 2019.

In the league match that took place between these two teams was at the Riverside Ground, Chester le Street where it was a one-sided match as England defeated New Zealand by a massive margin of 119 runs in a must win game. Jonny Bairstow won the ‘Man of the Match’ award for his scintillating century in that encounter.

Pitch Report

A typical Lord’s pitch is expected where there will be assistance for both batsmen as well as bowlers, especially spinners. Bowlers will definitely have to chip in a few early wickets otherwise there is going to be a big problem for them, once the batsmen are settled in the middle. Most probably a high scoring game is expected unless we witness some miraculous bowling.

What to Expect

Toss have played a crucial factor in this entire tournament and so is expected in this match as well. The team winning the toss is expected to bat first keeping the pitch conditions in mind. Also, a similar kind of pattern has been observed in this entire tournament where the team batting first has won most of the matches.

If England gets to bat first, then the hosts will definitely start as the favourites unless we see similar kind of bowling from the kiwi bowlers just like the last match. If New Zealand strikes first, then they will get more info the competition and a better is expected to take place.

All You need to Know

Date- 14th July, 2019 (Sunday)

Time- 10:30 AM (England); 9:30 PM (New Zealand) and 3:00 PM (IST)

Venue- Lord’s Cricket Ground, London

Possible Playing XIs:

England- Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (C), Jos Butler (WK), Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Liam Plunkett/Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid and Mark Wood

New Zealand- Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson (C), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham (WK), James Neesham, Colin De Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult

Back to top button