Things you should know about making of the Constitution

In 1940, the British Government considered the demand of Congress to constitute an Assembly for India. Later, the Constituent Assembly framed the Constitution of India. The aforementioned assembly includes 389 members out of which 292 were provinces, 93 states and 4 Chief Commissioner Provinces.


On Dec 9, 1946, they held the first meeting of the assembly and elected Dr. Sachidanand Sinha is also one of the oldest members of the Assembly.

After two days, i.e. Dec 11, 1946, Dr. Rajendra Prasad was elected as Permanent President. Subsequently B. N Rau was appointed as Constitutional Adviser to the Constituent Assembly.

Apart from this, on Dec 13, 1946, Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru introduced the Objective Resolution which was adopted by the Assembly.


13 committees were constituted for the framing of the Constitution and seven members were working under the chairmanship of Dr. B. R Ambedkar to draft the Constitution of India which was adopted on Nov 26, 1946.


On Nov 26, 1946, few provisions came into force such as provisions related to citizenship, elections, provisional parliament and other temporary provisions and the rest part of the constitution came into force on Jan 26, 1950.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy