India News

Guwahati Fuel Stations Go Cashless From Thursday

Digital India: In Making.

In a major step towards digital India, Guwahati Fuel Station owners have stepped up forward to make India digital. The capital city of Assam, gateway to the northeast have decided to go Cashless completely from Thursday until the ongoing of Lok Sabha elections. Earlier the petrol pumps owners decided to go Cashless From 18th April 2019.

As per the reports, petrol pump owners are facing many difficulties regarding cash transaction after the enforcement of Model Code Of Conduct for the Lok Sabha elections. Several owners have come under the scanner of election commission of India during the ongoing election.

Owners said that they are facing many difficulties in cash deposits in the bank. That is why the situation demanded them to go Cashless.

However in the notice released it has been clearly issued that there will be no extra charges during the transaction through debit or credit card at fuel stations, either to the customers or fuel station owners.

Above decision taken by the petrol pump owners will help India progress digitally and they are setting an example for others too.

The petrol pump owners of Kamrup Metropolitan district administration have decided to withdraw the decision of providing fuel through debit or credit cards. The decision was taken following a meeting between Kamrup Metropolitan Deputy Commissioner and the petrol pump owners Union.

Earlier the owners decided to go Cashless From 18th April 2019 until the ongoing elections. But further on Deputy Commissioner said that petrol pump can carry cash above Rs. 50,000 to Rs. 10 lacs to the bank and before leaving the petrol pump, and the bank has to be notified about the cash. In case the money is seized by the authority, it will be ceased.

In Assam, the election will be held in the third and final phase of elections on 23rd  April 2019. The constituencies which will go on polls are- Guwahati, Barpeta, Dhubri and Kokrajhar.


Back to top button