After Eastern, now the first section of the Western Freight Corridor will be operational, PM Modi will inaugurate it on January 7

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will dedicate the 306 km long New Rewari-New Madar section of the Western Dedicated Freight Corridor to the nation on Thursday. He will also flag off the world’s first double-stack long haul container train operations (1.5 km long container train) from New Attlee to New Kishangarh in a function organized through video conference, according to a statement released by the Prime Minister’s Office.

World’s first double-stack electric rail line

The trains that the Prime Minister will give the green signal will be the first such freight trains in the world which will be double stacked despite running on electric lines. In fact, the entire Western Dedicated Freight Corridor has been constructed in such a way that it can run electric-engine double-stack freight train from Dadri to JNPT Mumbai. Which is the first such railway line in the world.

One and a half kilometre long freight train will have 232 containers

There will be 1.5 km long container trains on this railway line. There will be two rakes (the entire train leaving the engine). Each rake has 58 cartons. The two freight trains that the Prime Minister will flag will go from New Atteli station in Rewari to New Kishangarh station in Ajmer.

The first section of the Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor has already started

Recently, Prime Minister Modi inaugurated a section of 351 km of Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor. It is called Bhaupur – New Khurja section. Also, the Prime Minister inaugurated the Operation Control Center of Freight Corridor at Prayagraj. For this, a freight train consisting of 116 cartons loaded with grain was also sent from the newly constructed New Khurja Freight Station of Bulandshahr.

Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor

Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India is constructing two dedicated freight corridors. Eastern DFC and Western DFC. The Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor is being built from Sahnewal in Ludhiana to Dankuni in West Bengal, with a total distance of 1856 route kilometres. In this, the share from Junghad to Dankuni will be formed under the Public-Private Partnership. It will start from Punjab, pass through Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and reach West Bengal.

Western Dedicated Freight Corridor

The Western Dedicated Freight Corridor is being built from Dadri in Uttar Pradesh to Jawaharlal Nehru Port in Mumbai, with a total distance of 1504 route kilometres. It will start from Noida district of Uttar Pradesh and pass through Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat and reach Maharashtra.

Both DFCs will be ready by June 2022

Together with both DFCs, a total of 40% DFCs will be commissioned by March 2021 while both DFCs will be operational by June 2022. Nearly 40 per cent of the Western Freight Corridor falls in Rajasthan while a part of 249 kilometres passes through Haryana. The Dedicated Freight Corridor is constructed and operated by the Dedicated Freight Corridor Corporation of India, which is completely under the Ministry of Railways.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy