English Premier LeagueFootballHeadlinesSport

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer become the first players to get inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer were named as the first players to be drafted into the official Premier League Hall of Fame on Monday. The duo holds a combined record of 435 goals and seven Golden Boot awards.

With 260 goals in 14 seasons for Newcastle and Blackburn, Alan Shearer was the first-ever player to have attained the 100-goal mark in the Premier League. 

“When you look at some of the unbelievable players to have graced the Premier League – week in, week out, year in, year out – I feel very honoured to join the Hall of Fame, I have to thank all of my team-mates, as well as the managers and coaches that I’ve worked with.”

“All I ever wanted to be was a professional footballer. It was my dream to do that, my dream to win trophies, and my dream to score at St James’ Park, to wear the number nine black-and-white shirt, and it was fantastic. I enjoyed every minute of it.” Shearer said, expressing his joy.

Arsenal’s all-time top scorer, Thierry Henry, with 175 Premier League goals in 258 matches for the Gunners, was part of the “Invincibles” team, who were unbeaten throughout the 2003/04 title-winning campaign. He managed to win two Premier League titles under Arsene Wenger. 

“To be inducted alongside Alan Shearer as the two first inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame is more than special,” said Henry.

“When I was young, I was just trying to make sure I could get a pair of boots and now we’re talking about the Hall of Fame. During my career I wanted to play hard and make sure I was fighting for the cause, because that’s all the fans want to see.”

Premier League clarified on their Twitter account that In order to be eligible for induction in 2021, players must have been retired by 1 August 2020. Simultaneously they posted the news of these two legends acquiring their spots respectively.

The league said the Hall of Fame “celebrates the talent and achievements” of those who have featured in the division since its inception in 1992.


Back to top button